Union Co. sweeps varsity wins at Claiborne

Published 4:20 pm Tuesday, December 5, 2017

The rivalry between Claiborne High School and Union County was rekindled November 28 when the Patriots basketball teams rolled into town and took both varsity wins. The only game the Patriots did not win was the junior varsity boys game.

Union County and Claiborne’s junior varsity teams took the floor as a precursor to the varsity games and for the Claiborne fans it had a great ending. The Patriots led up until late in the second half. The Bulldogs began chipping away at the Patriots lead until the game was tied. Claiborne took over the lead and got the big come from behind win at 55-50.

The varsity girl’s game was next and for the Lady Patriots fans in attendance it was satisfying. The Lady Patriots led basically throughout the contest turning a 10 point lead into a 48-30 victory. The Lady Patriots were led in scoring by Chloe Maggard with 14 points. Claiborne once again struggled to find their shot but showed improvement. The Lady Bulldogs were led by Kaylee Cox and Cheyenne Tolliver with 10 points each. Also recording scores for the Lady Bulldogs were Macie Sumner with six, Valoree Rouse with one and Sarah Fultz dropped in three to complete the total.

Email newsletter signup

During the final game of the night the two varsity boy’s teams went at it. The Patriots were shooting the lights out early in this one and were on the way to the century mark stopped only by a running clock during the fourth period. The Bulldogs played well but were just taken out of their game by the Patriots high scoring. During the first two periods, Union hit seven three- pointers and led 54-22 at the half. Each time Claiborne made a run during the second half, the Patriots answered with a run of their own. Leading the Patriots during the 85-52 victory were Barron Nease and Landan Oaks both with 17 points.

Claiborne was led by Evan Ickes and his 12 points. Also recording scores for the Bulldogs were Elijah Beason with five, Lucas Manning with four, Ethan Poore with two, Blaine Caylor with 10, Kade Beeler with three, Jacob Williams with six, Hunter Rosenbalm with six, Daniel Atkins had one and Houston Hatfield scored two along with Christian Whitaker.