Undefeated Caylor, 2017 softball league champions

Published 12:38 pm Tuesday, October 31, 2017

The New Tazewell Christian Fellowship Softball League featured seven teams this season and it all came to an end Oct. 24 at Mandalyn Noe Field at C.W. Gose Municipal Park.

There were four teams that were supposed to play during the championship night but one dropped out due to lack of available players. That left three teams to battle it out including the CPS team, Raymond Caylor team and the Screwballz.

The CPS and the Screwballz teams battled it out during game one and the CPS took the win and moved into the first of potentially two games for the league title against Raymond Caylor Heating and Cooling. Being warmed up, CPS had an early advantage and placed several runs on the board during the early innings. The Caylor sponsored team, who were wearing pink ribbons to support Lana Jo Tucker, finally found its groove late and took the game away during the last two innings. With the 31-6 come from behind win, the Caylor team finished undefeated and the 2017 New Tazewell CFSL champions.

Email newsletter signup

Team members include Chris Rosenbalm, Joseph Holt, Eli Brooks, Grant Brooks, Sarah Lingar, Kyle Holman, Gary Brooks Jr., Billy West, Randie Powers, Allen Webb, Matt Pruette, Jeremy Jones and Josh Holt.

The second place trophy went to CPS and Imperial Transport finished in the third position. The New Tazewell softball league thanks everyone for another great season.