Claiborne BOE recognizes school system achievers

Published 1:34 pm Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Jan Runions| Claiborne Progress

Twenty-two teachers were honored during the Claiborne school board meeting for achieving Level 5 of the Tennessee Value-Added Assessment System (TVAAS). “The achievement was based on those teachers whose students had single or multi-year growth. This year, grades 5 through 12 were eligible, due to the suspension of testing during the 2015-16 school year. The elementary schools will be included in 2017-18,” said Angie Estes, elementary supervisor for the Claiborne school system.

The following teachers, ten of which were present during the meeting, were recognized. Christy Brooks, Jennifer Childs, Joseph Combs, Melissa Daniels, Whitney Davis, Aaron Ellison, Kris Foster, Patricia Fugate, Danielle Goins, Shelley Graves, Jeff Haynes, Amanda Headrick, Heather Herrell, Kala Lawson, Kathy Majors, Tabitha Miles, Waylon Myers, Chuck Painter, Sara Painter, Kenwettia Ramey, Sherry Smith and Chastidy Wilder.

Email newsletter signup

Jan Runions| Claiborne Progress

Dr. Joseph Miller, Claiborne director of schools, recognizes two school system employees. H.Y. Livesay assistant principal Melissa Brock, center, was chosen to participate in the Governor’s Academy of School Leadership (GASL). Suzanne Anders, principal of Tazewell-New Tazewell Primary, will serve as mentor. Miller said the GASL had released the news shortly before the beginning of the board meeting on Nov. 9.