THSO announces Law Enforcement Challenge Award recipients

Published 12:53 pm Wednesday, January 13, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Tennessee Highway Safety Office (THSO) recognized 44 law enforcement agencies during its 16th Annual Law Enforcement Challenge. This year, 53 Law Enforcement Challenge applications were submitted: 17 from West Tennessee, 14 from Middle Tennessee, 11 from East Tennessee, 11 from the Cumberland Region, and one submission from each of the Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) districts.

 “The THSO is proud to recognize the hard work and dedication of Tennessee law enforcement agencies this year,” said THSO Director Buddy Lewis. “The COVID-19 pandemic presented unique obstacles we’ve never experienced before in traffic enforcement. Despite this, our partners remained focused, diligent, and enthusiastic about saving lives across Tennessee roadways. We appreciate all of our law enforcement partners and look forward to continuing our shared mission toward zero deaths.”

Award winners include:

Email newsletter signup

1-10 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Benton Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Chapel Hill Police Department
  • 3rd Place: Rocky Top Police Department


11-25 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Fairfield Glade Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Bolivar Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Newbern Police Department
  • 3rd Place: White House Police Department


26-45 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Brownsville Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Martin Police Department
  • 3rd Place: McMinnville Police Department


46-75 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Greene County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2nd Place: Maryville Police Department
  • 3rd Place: Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office


76-100 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Fort Campbell Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Gallatin Police Department
  • 3rd Place: Williamson County Sheriff’s Office


101-200 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Bartlett Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Sumner County Sheriff’s Office
  • 3rd Place: Blount County Sheriff’s Office


201-500 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Clarksville Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Rutherford County Sheriff’s Office
  • 3rd Place: Chattanooga Police Department


501 or More Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2nd Place: Metro Nashville Police Department
  • 3rd Place: Memphis Police Department


THP Districts Category


  • 1st Place: THP District 6 – Cookeville
  • 2nd Place: THP District 8 – Jackson
  • 3rd Place: THP District 5 – Fall Branch


University Police Category


  • 1st Place: University of Tennessee Knoxville Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Austin Peay State University Police Department


Director’s Award – Highest Overall Score


  • Bartlett Police Department


Director’s Award – Sheriff’s Office


  • Greene County Sheriff’s Office


Rookie of the Year


  • Obion County Sheriff’s Office

Occupant Protection Award


  • Austin Peay State University Police Department


Child Passenger Safety Award


  • THP District 8 – Jackson


Impaired Driving Awareness Award


  • Crossville Police Department


Speed Awareness Award


  • Tipton County Sheriff’s Office


Bicycle & Pedestrian Safety Award


  • Gallatin Police Department


Teen Driver Safety Award


  • THP District 8 – Jackson


Commercial Motor Vehicle Enforcement Award


  • THP District 7 – Lawrenceburg

Motorcycle Safety Award


  • Clarksville Police Department


Distracted Driving Award


  • Clarksville Police Department


Distracted Driving Award – Tennessee Highway Patrol


  • THP District 8 – Jackson


Seat Belts Are For Everyone (SAFE) Campaign


  • Crossville Police Department